Sade.

March already?!!

Mad. Mad. Mad.

Today is my little sister’s 25th birthday.

Tola… Sade… Shadiiki, Omoge Shadss… what name are you going by these days? Lol

It feels like it was just yesterday, my Dad picked me up from school and told me we were going to the hospital to see my “new baby sister”.

I’d finally get to meet this new baby that everyone had been talking about for as long as my little mind could comprehend. It took a while to understand that the baby I thought was “coming” was actually already among us, growing inside my mother. It was the reason why the space on her lap shrunk each month, making cuddles before bed tricky but inevitable.

Even in the womb, you showed us what you were really on. A warrior. Always kicking through whatever life put before you. Just like the woman you came out from...

But I digress… yeah so it was…

Baby this.

Baby that.

Every. single. day.

I remember munching fries in the backseat of my Pops whip, making my way to the chicken nuggets in the box and thinking about what you looked like as I peeked at my Dads smile through the rear view mirror… Joanne at school had a little brother called Jamie and she said he pooped ALL the time. “Poop and sleep, that’s all Jamie does. He giggles too sometimes”Her mum brought Jamie to school and he definitely pooped up the place for us that day!

But you?

Sade, you were a little bundle of soft yellow flesh and wispy dark hair wrapped in a fresh white cotton shawl. Your cheeks were huge… and your cries could be heard from outside the hospital.

I really cherish those early days… how tender but bold you were. How little your hands and feet were when I put them against mine.

Your quick little breaths and sweet coos.

Even at 5 years old, I felt the need to protect you.

Today, 25 years ago, my best mate was born.

In a weird way, I feel like you’re my first child.

And knowing that we came from the same womb is a reminder that we’re made from the same stuff.

Gold.

First smiles. First teeth. First steps. First school. First fight. First performance. First job. First heartbreak. I’ve held your hand through them all.

It’s a blessing to call you my sister.

You are beautiful like our mum.

You’re warm and funny like our dad.

You’re brave.

You’re bright.

You’re disciplined.

You’re confident.

You rise above challenges with grace.

You’re articulate.

You’re witty.

You’re compassionate and generous

You have a wild temper but a gentle spirit

You’re hard working

You’re loving.

You are loved.

I know sometimes you think I’m hard on you. It’s only because I want you to be and gave the best.

Every day I pray for you.

That God will bless and keep you.

I pray that He will make you great.

Greater than whatever you can imagine for yourself.

Because you deserve that.

The best of all this life has.

As you shift into another chapter of your life… I have just a few words of advice for you my G:

1. Your value lies within the treasures you carry within your heart and mind. What a wealth you have within you! The world awaits eagerly to enjoy more of you and your gifts.

2. Perfection is impossible – don’t waste your youth chasing the unattainable (like I did lol). Things will never be perfect – and that’s okay.

3. Always take the high road. Because “no one can heal themselves by wounding another” – the view is much better from up there anyway! A queen doesn’t spend her time rolling around in the mud.

4. Good days lie ahead for you. This I know, but there will be challenges too… try not to allow tough times to harden your heart.

5. Don’t get scared of your dreams. They’re big. But when have you ever not gone for what you want? What don’t we do? We don’t give up baby girl. Ever.

6. Don’t be afraid to walk away from situations or relationships that have run their course. Don’t be afraid to walk alone sometimes.

7. Whenever you make mistakes, accept it as a reminder that you’re human! Be quick to forgive yourself and don’t be afraid to start over if you have to.

8. Self love is more than massages at the spa and vacations by the sea… invest in yourself, believe in yourself. Be kind to yourself.

9. Remember, that no matter what, no matter where I am in this world- (May God grants us both the gift of life for decades to come) – even beyond this world… know I will ALWAYS love you.

Always.

I will always have you.

ALWAYS.

I’ll always be there and though you might not need to hold my hand much these days, it’s always there for you… just in case.

Folasade.

Your name means “riches honoured with a crown”

You truly are the crown of our family and a light in my life.

One of God’s best blessings to me and all those who know you.

Happy Birthday Queen. ❤️

Leave a comment